Open Source Alliance Cyberjaya

The Linux and Open Source Special Interest Group in Cyberjaya, Malaysia

Open source desktop is ready to take over

leave a comment »

Will 2008 be the year of the open source desktop?

Red Hat Linux is now widely deployed on the servers in my data center. Users have no idea what operating system underlies our xeb applications and databases, nor do they care, as long as those tools are highly available.

But the desktop is uncharted territory. Over the past year, I’ve been on a quest to find an operating system that balances ease of use, stability, low cost and high functionality. My experiences were the subject of an article in CIO magazine that described how I tried to use my enterprise applications with Windows XP, Mac OS X, Red Hat and Fedora. Recently, I’ve spent months running Novell’s SUSE Linux and Canonical’s Ubuntu, and I’ll report on those efforts soon.

Based on these experiences, I think I can say when the open source desktop will become a more widely deployed end-user operating system: when it becomes a product and not a project. That will require the following:

    The open source desktop should recognise my video chip set, my wired/wireless networking hardware and all my storage devices without being custom-configured, which would require me to search the web to learn how others have done the same thing with the same hardware. Searching the web works, but even for a high-level engineer, a typical laptop requires a lot of trial and error.

Read more: Reseller News

Written by syazli7

Fri, 8 Jun 2007 at 14:34:20 +0800

Posted in News

Leave a Reply

